• Welcome to Ranger6G.com everyone!

If you're joining us from Ranger5G, then you may already have an account here! As long as you were registered on Ranger5G as of March 27, 2020 or earlier, then you can simply login here with the same username and password.

Sponsored

2024 Ranger Raptor vs Lariat

wlarsen76

First Name
Wells
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Ford Edge
Good day all!
I'm looking for some advice. I'm new to the Ranger world, but I'm looking to purchase one.
I really, really like the Ranger Raptor, however I discovered that they are not easy to obtain after calling around to some dealers the last couple of days (no allocations near me).
So, my current choice appears to be 1) Maybe get lucky and pick up a 2025 allocation later this year (I'm not in a huge hurry) or 2) Pick up a fully loaded Lariat maybe later this year (maybe even order one custom??)

I'm really not going to off-road / Baja with it. It's primarily going to be highway use. I'd like to take my wife and dogs out on some adventures out west, hit some national & state parts, etc., so I don't know if I'd really get the use of functionality that comes with the Ranger Raptor.
The 3L Engine seems like a big upgrade from the 2.3L, but I don't know how much of a difference that would make or if I would even notice.
With that said, I'm a big fan of the Raptor aesthetics. So much so that almost the entirety of my decision is on looks alone.

As far as I can tell the biggest differences between the Raptor and the Lariat in in the aesthetics department are
  1. Larger fender flares
  2. Meaner looking grill
  3. Larger wheels
  4. Hood Vents
Can any of that be purchased after market and put on the Lariat?
Is there anything else that I missed?

My thinking is this... Even if I did get an allocation, there is no way that I'm going to get away with paying less than MSRP for the Raptor -- So, let's say $57 - $60K.